Drawdown Learn for Children

Public group 33 members

Drawdown Learn for Children

  • Calling all Superhero Enthusiasts! We need your help brainstorming creative names or activities for our Drawdown Superhero lesson aimed at grades K-2. This lesson is based on the fabulous presentation June Hament and Marty Levin created (whose input we welcome!).

    I made a link for the Superhero Curriculum table where we are fleshing out the various "Environmental Superhero" options kids can pledge to be. Each Superhero deals with a one (or two) Drawdown solutions.

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1o51wtIGv73wjOOsX6jwzbZdcC0mr25wL6It…

    The deadline for suggestions is this coming Thursday, August 15th. On Friday, August 16th we will start finalizing our K-2 lesson plan.

    We invite anyone who is interested to help us brainstorm Superhero names and the actions they could take. Brandon L , Daniel Poynter , Sue Blythe and Judith Hemphill , you four have had good ideas in the past. We welcome any input you might have!

  • Hi All,
    A big thank you to everyone who contributed to the lesson plan outlines! Today's group call with myself, Robin and Jeanne was very productive.
    We sifted through the suggestions for the K-2 lesson plan outline, and now have a solid vision for what the lesson is going to look like.

    In a brief summary it begins with a short video that explains the concept of climate change with the metaphor that the Earth has a fever, followed by an activity/game introducing a few drawdown sectors using an existing superhero framework, then ending with kids brainstorming what they can do and decorating a pledge card they can write on and take home with them.

    Next steps: adapting some of the content from the "superhero framework" to better fit our needs. If there is anyone who loves creating/adapting curriculumn for K-2 please comment below or email robingalbraith@hotmail.com

    Our next group call will be sometime later next week. Date/time TBA.

  • I found this fun food waste video while I was looking at resources for our K-2 and 3-5 lessons. This is a spoof of Ed Sheeran's "Shape of You" but all about food waste. It might make a good supplemental video for middle school, high school or beyond.

    If Ed Sheeran's "Shape of You" was about Food Waste

  • Here is the zoom link for tomorrow's call: https://pachamama.zoom.us/j/293745101

    Looking forward to seeing everyone and moving forward.

  • Hi All,

    The last few group calls were on a Tuesday, and while that worked well for those who attended the call, there were a few others who were unable to join due to the time, so I am suggesting a few other options.

    1. Thursday: 9am PDT/ 11am CDT/ 12pm ET/ 6pm CEST
    2. Friday: 9am PDT/ 11am CDT/ 12pm ET/ 6pm CEST
    3. Saturday: 11am PDT/ 1pm CDT/ 2pm ET/ 8pm CEST

    Please comment which day works best with your schedule.

    This call will be focused on discussing the lesson plan outlines for grades K-2 and 3-5. We ask that everyone familiarize themselves with the outline and the content that is currently on there prior to the call.

    Here is the link again for the outline:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/14gzmcCxRXcx7fSIwHp0NH7lz6BsRImBmJ90…

  • Hi All,

    Our Drawdown Kids group took a brief hiatus for the vacations of several members. We’re all back and ready to focus on finishing our lesson plan outline.

    A big thank you goes out to Jeanne Kuntz , Sue Blythe and Daniel Poynter for shifting through materials! Thanks also to Brandon L for writing down his terrific activities for teaching scientific climate change concepts to kids! Plus, thank you (again) to Daniel Poynter for creating and posting our lesson plan outline!

    Here’s the most recent plan, based on feedback from the group during our last group call on Tuesday, July 9th:

    -Action Needed For This Week:
    Complete K-2 and 3-5 lesson plan outlines by adding specific videos, lessons, and games to the lesson plan outlines

    -Volunteers Needed:
    To look over the Drawdown Kids’ Materials Sorting spreadsheet, find the best materials for K-2 or 3-5 students, and plug those material names & links to the lesson plan outline

    Link for Materials Sorting Spreadsheet:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1I7u8pqlRy9t0S242IJy5LWlaayaxKHA…

    Link for Lesson Plan Outlines:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/14gzmcCxRXcx7fSIwHp0NH7lz6BsRImBmJ90…

    -Goal Date For Completing Lesson Plan Outline:
    Monday, August 5

    -Next Group Phone Call:
    The week of Monday, August 5
    (specific day and time to be determined in upcoming post)

    -Topic of Next Phone Call:
    To discuss the completed lesson plan outlines for K-2 and 3-5.

    Please comment below if you are volunteering to add materials to the K-2 or 3-5 outlines this week with Janelle Barraza and Robin Galbraith .

    Thank you!

  • are we meeting today at noon Eastern? If not, when?

  • Hi There ~ I wanted to share this resource I came across. Hope it helps you and your journey. https://greenninja.org/

  • Good morning,

    I'm the founder of Make Our Kids Healthy Again - an organization inspired by Drawdown with a mission to educate children on the benefits of a plant-based diet on the environment and health.

    We just launched a free coloring sheet on our website!!! You can access it here (copy/paste):

    http://bit.ly/2Lh9bfv

    We’re looking to reach more people and make our program more accessible. Would you be willing to promote and share this with your audience via social media or your email newsletter?

    I’d appreciate any support you can provide - thank you!

    Meagan

  • Hey all. I created a Google Doc for brainstorming interactive demos/games we could use to help the students understand certain concepts. Feel free to comment on what I've added already and add your own ideas! https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NDnwQsCbFkZAOPbLiUm3SlW-j-7ItfOA5HQ…